Activating Students as Instructional Resources

Standard

This technique comes from Dylan Wiliam’s book “Embedded Formative Assessment“. I describe it it much more detail on my own blog.

I use this technique frequently in high school math classes. I plan and structure lessons in such a manner that students learn from each other, rather than from me. There are times when I have to step in, and then I step right back out and let them go.

Sometimes I print these lessons on worksheet-type things that the students work through. Sometimes I manage their learning without worksheets. In every case, though, I consciously plan opportunities for students to talk to each other and learn from each other.

Complete list of activities that activate students as instructional resources available on this blog.

Leave a Reply

